Let's Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir

Let's Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris—Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.   Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives—the ones we’d like to pretend never happened—are in fact the ones that define us. In the #1 New York Times bestseller, Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious jour...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Let's Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir
Author:Jenny Lawson
Rating:
ISBN:0399159010
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:318 pages

Let's Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir Reviews

  • Jenny Lawson
    Jan 10, 2012
    I wrote this book so I think I'm required to like it. But I'd like it even if someone else wrote it. Although if they did I'd sue them for stealing my life story.How confusing.Much like the book....
  • Jeanette
    Feb 11, 2012
    Skull and crossbones on this one if you're easily offended. So no whiners, okay? I mean it. Just....no whining. This is the most hilarious vagina memoir ever written. Okay, so technically it's not just about vaginas, but she mentions hers more often than anyone I've ever known who actually owns one....
  • Katie Mercer
    Feb 28, 2012
    Basically the best review I can give this book, is that as a librarian I'm pretty much giddy with excitement waiting for the things people will come tell me after they've read this book. From the (boring) I loved that it was an honest look at mental illness and survival (very true) to the (no seriou...
  • Chris
    Apr 11, 2012
    Overall Rating: 1.5I don’t know if it’s specifically American problem, but let me tell you, this is one of the worst memoirs I’ve read. (Seriously America, do you honestly find this funny? O.o) And I’ll tell you why, I’m not just saying this because of some misplaced sense o...
  • karen
    May 06, 2012
    **edited...with content!**watch your fucking back, sloane crosley...this lady is funny-funny, not "boys tell me i am funny at parties because i am pretty" funny.i am so glad that kelly read this before me and it encouraged me to pick up my ARC and get into it far earlier than i ordinarily would have...
  • Trudi
    May 17, 2012
    Jenny Lawson (aka The Bloggess) is seriously effed up, and that doesn't always equate with being seriously bleeping funny but in her case, this book will S-L-A-Y you. I laughed so hard in parts I shed tears (and a little pee I think). Just sayin'. For anyone out there with some incontinence issues a...
  • Grace
    Jun 22, 2012
    If you're looking for a Sedaris alternative, this unfortunately isn't it. Which kills me, because I get the feeling Lawson had the potential (and raw material) to knock it out of the park, but it just doesn't come together.Jenny Lawson is definitely funny. When she really gets going on a story, it's...
  • Diane
    Jun 02, 2013
    JENNY LAWSON ATTACKED ME WITH A MACHETE!!OK, so I have never met Jenny Lawson, and she didn't attack me with an actual machete, but I'm being metaphorical here, y'all.Because reading Jenny Lawson's book made me feel as if I were being beaten with some kind of weapon, and it may as well have been a m...
  • Patrick
    Feb 24, 2014
    First, I should mention that I listened to this one on audiobook. Didn't read the text version. Second, the audio version is read by the author. I think Jenny did a nice job with it, too. If you're used to nothing but professional audiobook narrators, there might be a few verbal ticks in here that m...
  • J.L.   Sutton
    Dec 07, 2016
    I read lots of memoirs, but something about Jenny Lawson’s Let’s Pretend this Never Happened was different. REALLY DIFFERENT! It’s not just the messed up lives thing which seems to be a prerequisite for memoir writers. In case you were wondering, though, dysfunctionality thrives in th...