The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics Daniel James Brown’s robust book tells the story of the University of Washington’s 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention o...

DownloadRead Online
Title:The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
Author:Daniel James Brown
Rating:
ISBN:067002581X
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:416 pages

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics Reviews

  • Diane S ☔
    May 26, 2013
    If someone had told me I would become emotionally invested is a book about rowing, I would have thought they were crazy. First, I knew little about rowing and second, I had no desire to learn. A read for a group I am in had me picking up this book and I am so glad I did. As many mothers have said, t...
  • Trish
    Jun 13, 2013
    If I told you one of the most propulsive reads you will experience this year is the non-fiction story of eight rowers and one coxswain training to attend the 1936 Olympics in Berlin, you may not believe me. But you’d need to back up your opinion by reading this book first, and you will thank me...
  • Tom
    Aug 27, 2013
    This may not be my final rating of this book, but I have to put it down for a while because I find it simply boring, and I have a backlog of other books that look SO much more interesting. Why this has achieved an average rating of 4.5 on Goodreads I don't understand, unless it all comes together in...
  • Donna
    Sep 07, 2013
    I don't know why I put off reading this book so long, except I was reading other things. BUT when I went to visit my son, who is the grandson of Joe Rantz and named his son Joe after him, I began reading their copy and could not put it down. Everything else I was reading was put aside. I then realiz...
  • Elyse
    Jul 10, 2014
    Wow!!! The books power is in the storytelling. Starts right out on page 1These were remarkable men -their sacrifice - committed dedication - had to scape for everything -their boat wasn't just handed to them... not all had cozy supportive families. Joe Rantz's humanity - especially - makes you want ...
  • Emily
    Jul 27, 2014
    This book was all right, but there was just too much of it and the title isn't very descriptive. It's really only about one of the nine "boys in the boat," plus their coach and the boatbuilder. Oh, and Hitler. Perhaps the author came to the project 10-15 years too late; only one of the main subjects...
  • Jen
    Dec 10, 2014
    Why did I wait so long to read this? Well, a couple of reasons: 1) It’s about rowing…No offense, it’s just not a sport I’m wowed by. 2) It’s about a group of Americans going to the 1936 Olympics in Berlin. Hey, I’m Canadian, eh... American patriotism and propaganda isn?...
  • Dem
    Jul 04, 2015
    The Boys In The Boat in an extremely beuatifually written account of the Universary of Washingtons's Rowing team that won a gold Metal in 1936 Berlin Olympics'I had no real desire to read a book about sport let alone read a book about rowing but something about a frinds's review here on goodreads ...
  • Brina
    Jul 12, 2015
    I read this book because my father kept telling me that I would enjoy it. Truthfully, l finally picked up so he would stop nagging me about it even though it is about sports and history- my two favorite things. Boys in the Boat is the motivational story of Joe Rantz, his wife Joyce, and the other me...
  • Stephanie
    Aug 05, 2015
    4+ stars. Inspiring story of University of Washington's rowing team's rise to win the 1936 Olympics with great historical detail!! Prepare to be inspired!! This compelling story is largely told through the eyes of Joe Rantz (one of the rowers), who is an amazing individual! His neighbor, author Dan...