When Breath Becomes Air

When Breath Becomes Air

For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?   At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade’s worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed...

DownloadRead Online
Title:When Breath Becomes Air
Author:Paul Kalanithi
Rating:
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Kindle Edition
Number of Pages:208 pages

When Breath Becomes Air Reviews

  • Elyse
    Nov 20, 2015
    1/12/16: Update: Just wanted to mention that this book goes on sale today. Its an amazing story!Paul Kalanithi studied literature at Stanford University. For his thesis, he studied the work of Walt Whitman, a poet , who a century before, was possessed by the same questions that haunted him. Kalanith...
  • Aisling
    Nov 22, 2015
    Oh dear. I was always told not to speak ill of the dead. It feels awful to give a three star rating to a nice guy (by all accounts) who is now dead. But I simply did not find this book compelling or insightful enough. It is mildly interesting to learn about neurosurgery as a specialty and to read th...
  • Iris P
    Dec 04, 2015
    Sharing this interesting New York Times interview with Dr. Lucy Kalanithi.She sounds like a very special person too:http://www.nytimes.com/2016/01/26/hea...***********************************************************Upgrading this to 5 stars, not sure why I didn't before******************************...
  • Diane S ☔
    Jan 14, 2016
    As I finished this book with tears running down my face I asked myself, "Why did you read this book? You know it was going to be sad, how could a man dying of lung cancer before the age of forty be anything but." Yet to just classify this memoir, to classify this novel as such is to devalue the man ...
  • Jen
    Jan 24, 2016
    Unforgettable is what Verghese says in his foreword. I agree and am fighting for my own breath to write my thoughts about this stunning memoir that has left me gasping for air. The writing. The emotion. The beauty in the darkness of dying. I mourn the death of this writer, a surgeon of great potenti...
  • Maxwell
    Jan 25, 2016
    I don't think you should read this book because the story of an incredibly gifted man who had his life taken away at such a young age might give you the motivation to live life more fully. I think you should read this book because that talented, inspiring man has incredibly important things to say d...
  • Petra Eggs
    Feb 05, 2016
    I finished the book. I'm glad that I perservered with it. It's quite an odd book and an overall rating might be the sum of the parts, but is not going to reflect the writing or content of those parts.The first part, the foreword, by Abraham Verghese, was verbose, hagiographic and contradictory (view...
  • Maggie Stiefvater
    May 29, 2016
    A gasping, desperate, powerful little book, bigger on the inside than outside. It's a little bit about dying, but more about being alive....
  • Sabaa Tahir
    Jul 16, 2016
    Never has a book turned me into a sad sobbing mess so quickly. Philosophical, beautiful, moving, difficult, heartbreaking. Highly, HIGHLY recommend. ...
  • Justin
    Aug 07, 2016
    I read this almost two months ago and realized I never reviewed it. When I finished the book, I just couldn't review it. It's a small book, but it's powerful. I didn't shed any tears at the end of it, but I remember sitting there physically shaking and feeling really numb and tingly. A book has neve...