32 Yolks: From My Mother's Table to Working the Line

32 Yolks: From My Mother's Table to Working the Line

For readers of Jacques Pepin s The Apprentice and Marcus Samuelsson s Yes, Chef, here is the com.......

DownloadRead Online
Title:32 Yolks: From My Mother's Table to Working the Line
Author:Eric Ripert
Rating:
ISBN:0812992989
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:247 pages

32 Yolks: From My Mother's Table to Working the Line Reviews

  • Anne
    Apr 12, 2016
    Read it. Couldn't put it down. It was heart-breaking and amazing, and as I read it, I'd find myself thinking, there's a piece that lead to LB's genius. Loved the line about how he could tell where a chef made a mistake in a sauce because he's made every single one of them himself. But now I want mor...
  • Ola
    Apr 16, 2016
    Fascinating coming-of-age story of a boy becoming a man, finding his passion and learning to cook and how to be a professional chef.This is a story of beginning of long way that Eric Ripert had to take to become an amazing chef of a three star restaurant. Reading it I had more and more admiration fo...
  • Sue Russell
    May 04, 2016
    This is really a pretty good book---better than most chef memoirs. But it's hard to know how to rate a book for which the author had "help." In this case I might add that the "help" did a very good disappearing act, so that the prose seemed natural and the food parts seemed credibly detailed. I know...
  • Diane S ☔
    May 04, 2016
    I like to cook, buy the best ingredients available to me and think I am a pretty good at it. Or so my family says. But to be this caliber of a chef liking it not enough, passion os required, the passion required to cook for sixteen or more hours of a day. That I don't have the desire to do.Saw Chef ...
  • Stacy
    May 14, 2016
    This a fascinating inside look from one of the world's best know chefs into what shaped and influenced him to become the culinary master he is. From the pain and abuse endured as a child, to the many mentors that taught and inspired him, Eric Ripert gives a amazing account of his life from earliest ...
  • Beth
    May 16, 2016
    Unlike many who would be attracted to this book, I started reading not really aware of who Eric Ripert really is. I don't generally pay attention to Michelin stars or any of that - way above my budget. But I do tend to be interested in memoirs, and as someone who collects cookbooks like some collect...
  • Lorilin
    May 24, 2016
    Eric Ripert is one of the most recognizable chefs in the world today. He makes good food. He's on Top Chef a lot. And Anthony Bourdain seems to think he's a swell guy. To top it off, he's always got that humble and composed Frenchman swagger. The guy just has it going on.I like Eric Ripert, and I fi...
  • Cathie
    Jan 28, 2017
    A must read for those aspiring chefs! What determination! What achievements! ...
  • Abby
    Apr 02, 2017
    What a beautiful memoir! I'm not a foodie or super into cooking, but I love a good food-related memoir. I adored the gritty brashness of Bourdain's 'Kitchen Confidential' and Ripert's own coming of age/ 'learning to love being a cook' story doesn't disappoint. It comes down to a simple story of of R...
  • Donna
    Mar 24, 2017
    I enjoyed this book for so many reasons. I like autobiographies and this one is no exception. I didn't know who Eric Ripert was before delving into this so what a wonderful surprise to hear his story. This book was so well written. I loved the descriptive quality. His life was somewhat privileged, b...