The Death and Life of the Great Lakes

The Death and Life of the Great Lakes

A master reporter’s landmark work of contemporary ecology.The Great Lakes hold 20 percent of the world’s freshwater, and they provide food, work, and weekend fun for tens of millions of Americans. Yet they are under threat as never before.In a work of narrative reporting in the vein of Rachel Carson and Elizabeth Kolbert, prize-winning reporter Dan Egan delivers an eye-ope...

DownloadRead Online
Title:The Death and Life of the Great Lakes
Author:Dan Egan
Rating:
ISBN:0393246434
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:384 pages

The Death and Life of the Great Lakes Reviews

  • Gail Baugniet
    Dec 07, 2016
    My first 23 years were spent around, on, or in Lake Michigan, one of the "best" of the Great Lakes. How true it is that you don't know what you've got 'til it's gone, as was proved to the fishing industry on this lake. One time the beaches were so polluted with dead alewives, the smell forced everyo...
  • Nancy
    Dec 04, 2016
    Dan Egan's book The Death and Life of the Great Lakes was distressing to read. I know these lakes. I have lived near the Great Lakes for almost 50 years. I grew up along the Niagara River and have lived 40 years in Michigan--including seven years living near Lake Michigan, three years so close I hea...
  • Chadwick
    Dec 18, 2016
    "Like generations of the past, we know the damage we are doing to the lakes, and we know how to begin to stop it; unlike generations of the past, we aren't doing it."For those of us who love the Great Lakes, this is a very disturbing read. But the situation should be setting off alarm bells for ever...
  • Matthew Mente
    Feb 08, 2017
    This book is fascinating! It reminds me of one of those documentaries you stumble across on a marginally-familiar topic where you're completely drawn in, unable to stop watching.The book dives deep (pun intended) into a number of somewhat technical (but highly readable) Great Lakes-related topics. I...
  • Art
    Feb 12, 2017
    “This story picks up after the Cuyahoga River caught fire in 1969,” said Dan Egan, speaking to a surprisingly packed, standing-room-only crowd at Milwaukee’s largest indie bookshop on Friday night. The Cuyahoga River winds through downtown Cleveland before flowing into Lake Erie. Alth...
  • Jeremy
    Mar 13, 2017
    This wonderful and timely book is a great read about a timely subject. The writing is snappy and engaging, and can transform sometimes fairly technical discussions into a captivating study. What emerges clearly from this book is the critical importance of a much more sophisticated public conversatio...
  • Hadrian
    Apr 15, 2017
    The five Great Lakes of North America are one of the world's great treasures. Their surface area is larger than the United Kingdom, they contain one-fifth of the world's fresh water supply, and the lakes are home to thousands of different species. But while the surfaces of the lakes seem calm and pe...
  • Mark
    May 18, 2017
    Okay, what do Asian carp, sea lamprey, homo sapiens, zebra mussels and climate change have in common? They are all destroying the mighty Great Lakes. Ouch! The five Great Lakes are one of the true wonders of the world, but we are continuously throwing wicked curve balls at this amazing water system....
  • Sherry Oliver
    May 13, 2017
    Nominated for his 2nd Pulitzer Prize. this book almost made me cry. I will not spoil the end. There is hope. Read it....
  • Mary Jo
    May 17, 2017
    Wow!! Fascinating and disturbing. I had intended to skim it. Instead I read every word. Well written and well researched with an amazing history of mankind's horrible treatment of these beautiful lakes. It should be required reading for politicians....