One Day We'll All Be Dead and None of This Will Matter

One Day We'll All Be Dead and None of This Will Matter

A collection of essays about growing up the daughter of Indian immigrants in Canada, "a land of ice and casual racism," by the cultural observer, Scaachi Koul.In One Day We'll All Be Dead and None of This Will Matter, Scaachi deploys her razor-sharp humour to share her fears, outrages and mortifying experiences as an outsider growing up in Canada. Her subjects range from s...

DownloadRead Online
Title:One Day We'll All Be Dead and None of This Will Matter
Author:Scaachi Koul
Rating:
ISBN:0385685351
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:288 pages

One Day We'll All Be Dead and None of This Will Matter Reviews

  • Esil
    Feb 07, 2017
    3.5 stars. One Day We'll All Be Dead and None of This Will Matter is an engaging collection of personal essays. The author is a young Canadian woman who's family is originally from India. She grew up in Calgary and lives in Toronto. Her personal essays deal with, amongst other topics, family, relati...
  • Leonicka
    Oct 20, 2016
    Scaachi's voice is wholly unique. She is cringingly funny (in a good way, I swear) but I found myself tearing up quite often. This isn't a treatise on millennial Indian women or a manifesto on the first-gen immigrant story or some bullshit like that.She makes no attempts to tell a universal story an...
  • Melki
    May 26, 2017
    There's nothing earth-shattering here, just some fun, and (mostly) funny essays by a young Canadian writer who describes herself as a woman who somehow manages to get both of her hands stuck in two different salsa jars at the same time.Koul covers a range of topics from romance to hair removal. She ...
  • Jenny (Reading Envy)
    Feb 12, 2017
    Perfect for fans of Lindy West, Roxane Gay, and Jenny Lawson. With the added commentary on skin color in India vs. Canada, I felt like I was gaining one more perspective on what it means to have brown skin and how that changes based on where you are (and her surprising excursions into privilege.) Th...
  • Natalie
    Mar 08, 2017
    Any writer promised to bear similarities to either Mindy Kaling or Roxane Gay will have my immediate interest in the palm of their hand. And Scaachi Koul did not dissaopint with her wry humor and telling insights on a plethora of subjects. Dealing with fear, anxiety, grief, parenting, insecurities, ...
  • Maxwell
    Apr 26, 2017
    This was delightfully funny and surprisingly heartfelt. The first essay really got to me, which I wasn't expecting. She's a talented writer and storyteller, and she tackles some pretty serious themes—sexual assault, race, gender dynamics, and cultural difference. But I did feel like they lacked...
  • Book of the Month
    Apr 01, 2017
    Personal Essays That Are Equal Parts LOL and WTFBy Judge Kevin NguyenAn essay collection hinges entirely on the voice of its author, so let me characterize Scaachi Koul's: rude, angry, sometimes crass, always fiercely intelligent and hilarious. In her debut, Koul tackles regular essay collection stu...
  • emma
    Apr 10, 2017
    not sure if i'm going to write a real review of this book. i found it very...eh....
  • Rachel León
    Apr 18, 2017
    (4-4.5 stars, rounded up because Scaachi Koul is smart and funny as hell)I interviewed the author this morning, which is why I think I'm qualified to say, yes, she really is smart and funny. This collection of essays tackles issues like racism, sexism, body image, and rape culture, while also infusi...
  • Nenia *the flagrant liberal* Campbell
    May 28, 2017
    Instagram || Twitter || Facebook || Amazon || PinterestI was notified recently that my library just added a ton of books that I recommended, including several memoirs written by people of color and YA about LGBT+ characters. One of those books was ONE DAY WE'LL ALL BE DEAD AND NONE OF THIS WILL MAT...